Excellent Review
Each week, new menus are designed with healthy eating a priority. This food is free of Trans fats, made with whole grains, no preservatives or additives and nutritional information is always included.

There are three menu plans, “Busy Singles,” “Couples on the Go,” and “Family Favorites.” Busy Singles consist of eight single serving meals for the week, including five dinner entrees and three entree salads. The Couples on the Go plan includes ten dinner entrees consisting of two servings of five meals. Family Favorites includes four complete meals complete with main courses and side dishes.

These meals always are shipped ready to heat and eat, but can also be frozen (except for the salads). They are in recyclable containers and have use by and freeze by dates on the labels and can be heated either in the microwave or oven.

Some of the menu items include grilled balsamic Dijon chicken salad with balsamic dressing, pesto shrimp, garlic chili beef Thai style, and chicken Marengo with fresh green beans. For those wanting to make healthy eating a priority but have little time to do so, this company may be worth a look into for more information.

Be the next person to send us your Personal Chef to Go Reviews!  If you have tried this chef prepared meal delivery service, please share your experience with thousands of other visitors. Sharing your personal experiences and insight can help others to make better value and quality buying choices.
Personal Chef To Go is a company that provides freshly prepared meals for shipping. The meals are made with fresh, natural ingredients and can be shipped anywhere in the United States.
Pretty Good
I was looking to start the new year with a healthy jump start so I decided to get some of these meal plans. I really wasn't expecting much, but I thought the meals were pretty good. The salads actually turned out to be my favorite part of the meals and I can eat burger after burger all day long. I would like to see larger meal sizes, but that is about it.
-David D.
Aug. 2011
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Good
Excellent
Good
Excellent
Good
Good
Good Personal Chef To Go Review
Overall
Consumer
Review
Appetizer Sized Portions
I also thought the size of the meals were pretty small for the money. They looked bigger when I saw them on TV. I periodically buy from another company and I thought their frozen meals were better than these fresh meals. But I did think they tasted good. If you can eat appetizer sized portions for dinner, than you should like this program.

Joan C., VA
April 9, 2011
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Good
Good
Good
Good
Fair
Fair
Fair Review
Overall
Consumer
Review
The Portion Sizes Could be Larger
I have a 13 year old daughter and myself. We were giving this as a gift when my husband passed away. We have continued placing orders since we found the staff, food and convenience wonderful.

The sizes could be larger for two and we don't eat that much. Other than that, I have enjoyed not having to cook large meals for just the two of us.


Debbie, Henrico VA
10/1/10
Excellent
Excellent
Excellent
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Good
Excellent
Excellent
Good Review
Overall
Consumer
Review
Problems Right Out of the Box
Before I get to my meal reviews, I have to say I was very unimpressed with shipping, packaging, and being able to read nutritional labels. I had problems with Personal Chef To Go right out of the box.

  • First, the film on two of my meals broke causing some severe leaking inside the shipping box. I had reservations about even eating the food.

  • Second, my husband is a diabetic and I have to count the amount of carbs he eats every meal. Their nutritional label says each meal serves two to three people. How does someone convert that into what a portion size is?  Is it two servings, or is it three servings?

  • Third, when you peel back a corner of the film to reheat the meal and microwave it, the label comes out of the microwave all black and impossible to read. This too made it difficult to properly portion a meal for my diabetic husband because now I couldn't read anything. I had to peel off the label in advance and wrap it with saran wrap so I could still see the nutritional label. What a pain.

  • Fourth, I did not see anywhere on the website where I was able to customize a meal on the menu. If there is a meal on the menu you don't like, tough. You have to buy it anyway.

Jackie F, NY
1/16/12
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Fair
Good
Good
Poor
Fair
Fiar
fair Review
Overall
Consumer
Review
My Personal Chef To Go OrderTwo of my four dinners leaked all over the package because the plastic seal broke off.My husband is a diabetic, so measuring carbs is important to me. If a meal serves 2 or 3 people, how can you measure a portion size based on a nutrional label without a serving size?When reheat your meals, the label turns all black and is impossible to read. This also makes it impossible to know how to portion based on my husbands diabetic requirements.
Click to enlarge
Personal Chef To Go Chicken and Pasta Dinner
I would have given this prepared meal no chef hats had it not been for the salad. I would guess there one small chicken breast cut up and tossed over a lot of pasta, and I mean a lot. There was hardly any sauce to cover the pasta too. It is easy to see in the close up picture. The salad was exceptionally crisp and fresh, except there wasn't much in the way of anything other than lettuce. The salad dressing, which wasn't labeled, was some kind of vinaigrette that was bland at best. The broccoli came out good, but you can see in the picture how many florets you get per person.
Jackie F, NY
1/16/12
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Fair
Good
Good
Poor
Fair
Fiar
Fair Review
Overall
Consumer
Review
Personal Chef To Go Chicken Dinner reheated in the trayPersonal Chef To Go SaladPersonal Chef To Go Chicken Dinner PlatedPersonal Chef To Go Chicken Dinner Close Up
Click to enlarge
Cajun Jambalaya and Spanish Rice
This was another meal that was borderline no chef hats, which is shame because I was really looking forward to the notion of having prepared meals delivered by a personal chef. Cafeteria to Go might be more accurate. This would have been a meal I would have substituted given the opportunity. The Spanish Rice (and that is a huge stretch calling it that) was painfully overcooked and dried out, the dinner roll was as hard as a rock, and there was hardly any sauce to moisten the meal. My husband liked it more than I did, and felt credit was deserved to perfectly reheated shrimp, sausage, and vegetables. But this was one of the meals that opened during shipping, so I don't know if there the recipe has no sauce, or the sauce all leaked out into the shipping box.
Jackie F, NY
1/14/12
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Fair
Good
Good
Poor
Fair
Fiar
Fair Review
Overall
Consumer
Review
Personal Chef To Go Cajun Jambalaya and Spanish RiceBroken FilmSpanish RicePersonal Chef To Go Cajun Jambalaya and Spanish Rice on a plate
Click to enlarge
Healthy Baked Pesto Chicken
This was a much better meal. The chicken didn't seem to have much of a pesto sauce, or any pesto flavor, but it was good. Two pieces of chicken breasts, even though they are small, is a bonus.

The rice is the same overcooked, and dried out rice I had before, and the carrots were cooked perfectly. The roll was as hard as a rock. I would have liked to see a green vegetable instead of two carb sides, and again, the nutritional labels leave a lot to be desired trying to portion this out for my diabetic husband.
Jackie F, NY
1/11/12
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Fair
Good
Good
Poor
Good
Good
Good Review
Overall
Consumer
Review
Personal Chef To Go Healthy Baked Pesto Chicken
Click to enlarge
Texas BBQ Pork Chops
This was a good meal also. This is a center cut pork chop that was about 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch thick. Bonus points for that. It was perfectly grilled, and when heated in the microwave comes out like you had cooked it on your outside grill.

The roasted mushrooms were right on, too. There were plenty of them as well! The red peppers added a nice crunchy texture. Again, the rolls were hard as a rock and didn't get eaten. I would have liked to see a green vegetable too. The only reason I didn't give this meal a gold medal was the BBQ sauce. I am pretty sure no one in Texas would ever sign their name to it. It was gross, and I had scrape it off my plate.

Jackie F, NY
1/9/12
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Fair
Good
Good
Poor
Good
Good
Good Review
Overall
Consumer
Review
Personal Chef To Go Texas BBQ Pork Chops
Click to enlarge
Website and Ease of Ordering:


Please enter your comments of at least 100 words in the space provided.
Optional: Please email pictures of the products they have tried.  They say a picture is worth a thousand words, so improve your reviews with pictures!
Submit Your Own Personal Chef To Go Review!
Shipping Experience:
Reheating/Cooking:
Taste and Food Quality:
Customer Service:
Value of Products Purchased:
Overall Rating:
Personal Chef To Go Reviews
These meals are convenient whether for singles, couples, or families and have specific menus that change by the week.

Once the meal plan is decided upon, meals can be ordered online.

They are shipped very shortly after preparation so the food is always fresh when arriving at the destination.

The food is never frozen, but kept a safe, cold temperature in triple insulated containers.
Personal Chef To Go is offering a Free $25 Gift Card with every $100 you purchase.

Instead of Personal Chef To Go Coupons, you can choose between a E-card or a Mailed Gift Card for more details and to place your order now!

No Personal Chef Coupon Code is required for this discount. Details are explained on the home page of their website.

If any Personal Chef To Go Coupons become available in the future, we will be sure to post them right here.
Copyright 2009 Prepared Meal Delivery Reviews  All Rights Reserved. All Art Licensed by Shutterstock
Protected by Copyscape Unique Content Checker
No Contracts and So Far So Easy
I've been on the program for 3 weeks and love the food not to mention the convenience.  Just ordered my 2nd month to be delivered next week. I'm losing inches and pounds.  My coworkers can already see the loss so that's really encouraging.  It's definitely worth trying at least a month.  No contracts and so far so easy.


Debbie E, TX
10/1/10
Excellent
Excellent
Excellent
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Excellent
Excellent
Excellent
Overall
Consumer
Review

Personal Chef To Go Coupons and Coupon Codes

Personal Chef To Go Reviews

Consumer Personal Chef To Go Reviews Coupons

Excellent Review
Tasted Like I HAD Hired a Personal Chef
I don't like to cook and need to lose weight.  I have tried a couple of weight programs but failed, as I don't like to cook (Weight Watchers) and could not stand the processed foods (Medifast).  I priced out hiring a personal chef in my area, but the cost and variety of food each week were limited, as the chef would only be cooking for me. So I tried a few meal delivery services to compare the food before I committed to one (DineWise, Magic Kitchen, Personal Chef to Go).

Dinewise and Magic Kitchen meals tasted equal to or worse than airplane meals.  But 'Personal Chef to Go' tasted like I HAD hired a personal chef. The meals were delicious, filling, visually appealing, and w/in my desired calorie count. Also, each week's menu fulfilled the craving for a variety of proteins and vegetables.  I am so glad I found 'Personal Chef to Go'!! Note, I have not had any issues with delivery thus far, as noted in another review.

Lulu, Minneapolis, MN
10/21/14
Excellent
Excellent
Excellent
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Excellent
Excellent
Excellent
Overall
Consumer
Review
Share Your Reviews and Comments on Your Choice of Prepared Meals, Best Prepared Meals Delivered and Prepared Food.
Kitchen Granite Background
Chef
Best Prepared Meal Company
Prepared Meal Delivery Reviews
Share your food reviews with other foodies
Follow Me on Pinterest
Web Page Updated On: 7/10/2015
Best Services
3rd Best Prepared Meal Delivery Company
Second Best Prepared Meal Company
PoorFairGoodExcellent
PoorFairGoodExcellent
PoorFairGoodExcellent
PoorFairGoodExcellent
PoorFairGoodExcellent
PoorFairGoodExcellent
No MedalBronzeSilverGold