There individual meal section is broken up into categories of chicken, turkey, beef, pork and ham, fish and seafood, and other specialties. Consumers can find many of the more common fare, but also unique meals such as:

  • Chicken Carbonari
  • Rock Cornish Hen
  • Moroccan Chicken
  • Beef Enchiladas
  • Corned Beef and Cabbage
  • Texas BBQ Brisket
  • Scalloped Potatoes and Ham
  • Maryland Crab Cakes

One of the more interesting aspects of this meal delivery service is that all of their prepared meals are one price, $13 to be exact, which is very competitive with prices of the more nationally recognized providers. Shipping rates vary by state:

  • Residence of Vermont, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, New York, Connecticut, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Massachusetts, Delaware, and Maryland will pay just $15 for shipping.

  • Residence of Florida, Alabama, and Louisiana will pay $40

  • Residence of Michigan, Tennessee, Kentucky, and Ohio will pay $50.

  • All other states, which are on the West Coast, will pay $65.

Their website might be as homemade as their prepared meals, but it is easy to navigate and find their menu of meals. Nutritional information is provided on the product page for each meal. They do not offer a diet meal delivery service.
Home Cooking For You is a local and national prepared meal delivery company that specializes in meals that might remind you of meals you may have had at your Grandmother's house.
Good Home Cooking For You Review
The Portion Size Was Beyond Huge

USP delivered my package as promised, but my ten meals were packaged wrapped in a shopping bag, and placed in a box with millions of those Styrofoam peanuts. What a pain to have to deal with as you dig through this ocean of peanuts to find your meals, and clean up after them.

Overall, I found the reheating process a little disappointing too. These meals have to be defrosted before they can be reheated, with isn't always convenient for me. The trays my meals came in didn't appear to be microwave-ready either. The tray and cover are held together by clear shipping tape, which doesn' prevent a small amount of leakage when microwaving. After just two minutes in the microwave, the plastic cover started to melt. I am one of those people who is concerned about plastic in my food.

Aside from those two observations, I was looking forward to trying out my new "homemade" prepared meals. I can assure you are just that.

Beef Enchilada Meal

My first meal from Home Cooking For You was their Beef Enchilada meal. The picture on their website showed it came with Yellow Mexican Rice and Refried Beans. Mine came with what appeared to a brown "dirty rice," and kidney beans. That was okay this time, because I like both of the substituted sides, but if I didn't that may have been strike three for this company.

The portion size was beyond huge. I do use a lot of meal delivery companies and I have never seen a portion size like this. I was so impressed, I deducted a strike for the Styrofoam peanuts.

The Beef Enchilada was tremendous. It was fresh, and the wrap didn't' get crusty hard during cooking. It was stuffed to the gills and smothered in cheese. The sauce could have been spicier, and the beef had a suspiciously similar favoring to store-bought taco seasoning. It was right on the borderline of being too salty, but I would still recommend this meal to a friend.

The rice was kind of bland, but moist and plentiful. The red kidney beans were right out of the can and rinsed. But the star of the show was that dinosaur-portioned enchilada, that certainly tasted homemade to me.
Jan F. NY
2-25-12
Home Cooking For You Beef Enchiladas Meal DefrostedHome Cooking For You Beef Enchiladas Meal Plastic Cover Melted from MicrowaveHome Cooking For You Beef Enchiladas Meal Reheated in the trayHome Cooking For You Beef Enchiladas Meal Plated
Click to enlarge
Home Cooking for you Shrimp and Linguini
Fair Review
Fair Shrimp with Linguini Meal

I had the same problem and concern about the microwave melting my cover that I did with my first meal. That note aside, this was a fair meal. Again, the portion size was very generous. Thank you for that. Normally a meal of this types comes in a buttery-olive oil-garlicly type sauce. This one did too, but the water left behind from defrosting and reheating watered it down and made it bland.

The seafood was fresh and reheated well. I found five large-sized shrimp in my meal. The linguini was also good, and not mushy. Bonus points for using of fresh vegetables, and especially real (not canned) mushrooms. Had the sauce pulled all of these components together, instead of diluting them, this meal would have been top-notch. 

-Jan F. NY
2-25-12
Microwave melted coverShrimp with Linguini PlatedShrimp with Linguini Close Up
Click to enlarge
Excellent Review
Amazing Meatloaf Meal

Here' a meal you won't want to pass on. An amazing meatloaf diner in the tradition of comfort food at its best. Again, the portion size is extremely generous, only to matched by a delicious meatloaf that truly tasted homemade. The corn was better then frozen corn you might get at the market. In fact, if I closed my eyes, its taste brought me back to the sweet "salt and pepper"corn one could get from a farm stand in August. The mashed potatoes may have been instant, but still a great meal.

-Jan F. NY
2-27-12
Home Cooking For You Meatloaf
Click to enlarge
Excellent Home Cooking For You Review
Outstanding BBQ Pork Meal

Today was a great day of comfort at its best for me. This BBQ Pork meal was spot on, and the only flaw that kept it from perfection was the amount of water that accumulated in the tray after the meal was defrosted and reheated. The chefs at Home Cooking For You served up 4 hearty slices of pork tenderloin, which reheated as if I were slicing it myself. There was the perfect amount of BBQ sauce as to not overpower the dish.

Notice the vegetables? It is a standard mixed vegetable blend, and many other companies might have left them just like that. These had sliced caramelized onions sprinkled through them, which totally changed the flavor profile from plain to awesome. Caramelized onions do take a while to make, so I really appreciated the effort. A tiny detail that I am going to remember when I do my own cooking.

And the meal just kept getting better. The macaroni and cheese was tops compared to many I have had through the years. It was creamy, maintained its texture, and again, tasted homemade. Outstanding job.

-Jan F. NY
2-27-12
Home Cooking For You BBQ Pork
Click to enlarge
Water in the tray after reheating
Click to enlarge
Good Review
Very Good Turkey Dinner

Here is a classic turkey dinner anyone can enjoy all year. The slices of turkey are from a real bird, not a processed one or one you might find in the deli section of the local market. The slices are thick too. My dinner came with 4 slices. The mashed potatoes seemed instant and the carrots were good.

There is stuffing under the turkey that came out mushy from the gravy. If the stuffing was in its own tray, it may have been more traditional, and there may have been more gravy for the turkey. But there are only three compartments in the tray. I thought it was a very good meal with generous portion sizes.
-Jan F. NY
Mar-2-12
Home Cooking For You Turkey Dinner
Click to enlarge
fair Review
Just Okay BBQ Beef Brisket

This prepared meal would be a tough task for anyone just because beef is difficult to reheat in a microwave and come out chewy. I was so careful to microwave the meal in 30 second increments as to not have that occur, but I still ended up with leathery beef brisket. Just as difficult to reheat are the potatoes, tasted good, but had a mushy texture. The broccoli also didn't' have any crispiness to it. The portion size was substantial, but this was a meal I' not likely to order again.
-Jan F. NY
Mar-2-12
Home Cooking for you BBQ Beef Brisket
Click to enlarge
fair Review
Too Salty Chicken Carbonari

I sincerely had difficulty scoring this meal. On one hand I want to award it a gold medal and praise the chef for an outstanding meal. One the other hand I wanted to give this meal No Medal. The sauce was perfect in creaminess and texture. The chicken wasn’t a cut up, mass produced piece of chicken, but instead, was a real breast off a roasted chicken. I am not sure anyone does that. It came with canned peaches, which I would have preferred a green vegetable or more noodles, with were perfectly prepared.

The amount of salt in the chicken and the sauce was intolerable, and I mean exactly to the point that I couldn’t take eating it. Some of Home Cooking For You’s other meals were on the salty side, but this one should have caught by the head chef before it out to the customers. Most of the meal was sadly tossed away. I decided to go with a silver medal on the hope that this was just an oversight on the part of a brand new sous chef who quite hasn’t fully learned that “seasoned” doesn’t mean “salty.”

-Jan F. NY
3-5-12
Home Cooking For You Chicken Carbonari
Click to enlarge
Good Review
Good, But Incomplete Beef Bourguignon

When I ordered this online, the description said it came with mashed potatoes and a vegetable. Mine came as a single tray of Beef Bourguignon without a side dish or vegetable. When I lifted the cover from my microwave tray, I was greeted with a heavenly aroma of red wine gravy. But I would soon be disappointed.

Once again, the amount of water left in the tray after reheating watered down any flavorful gravy that may have existed. The beef was perfect though, and the noodles were good. A few tiny mushrooms didn’t make up for the missing side and vegetable in my opinion. And showing you one thing on the website, and delivering you another always leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

But I would recommend this meal

-Jan F. NY
3-5-12
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Poor Review
Soupy Veggie Lasagna

Here is another meal that didn’t look anything like the picture or description on the website and was drowned by residual water after microwaving. My Veggie lasagna had a red sauce, not a white as shown on the Home Cooking for You website. During reheating, the water dripped over the sides of the tray and made quite a mess in the microwave.

There was a side dish of sliced carrots not mentioned on the menu, and I still don’t see how canned peaches round out this meal. In fact, the saucy-water from the lasagna seeped in the peach compartment for a blend that goes as about as well as you can imagine. The lasagna was so messy, it just kind of blobbed on to my plate more like a chunky stew.

-Jan F. NY
3-5-12
Vegetable Lasagna after reheatingVegetable Lasagna water left in the trayVegetable Lasagna platedVegetable Lasagna closeup
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
As pictured on their website.
Website and Ease of Ordering:


Please enter your comments of at least 100 words in the space provided.
Optional: Please email pictures of the products they have tried.  They say a picture is worth a thousand words, so improve your reviews with pictures!
Submit Your Own Home Cooking For You Review!
Shipping Experience:
Reheating/Cooking:
Taste and Food Quality:
Customer Service:
Value of Products Purchased:
Overall Rating:
Home Cooking For You Reviews
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Excellent
Fair
Excellent
Fair
Good
Good
Overall
Consumer
Review
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Excellent
Fair
Excellent
Fair
Good
Fair
Overall
Consumer
Review
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Excellent
Fair
Excellent
Fair
Excellent
Excellent
Overall
Consumer
Review
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Excellent
Fair
Excellent
Fair
Excellent
Excellent
Overall
Consumer
Review
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Excellent
Fair
Excellent
Fair
Fair
Fair
Overall
Consumer
Review
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Excellent
Fair
Excellent
Fair
Good
Good
Overall
Consumer
Review
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Excellent
Fair
Excellent
Fair
Fair
Good
Overall
Consumer
Review
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Excellent
Fair
Excellent
Fair
Excellent
Good
Overall
Consumer
Review
Shipping Experience:
Taste and Food Quality:
Consumer Value:
Website Ease of Ordering:
Reheating Convenience:
Customer Service:
Excellent
Fair
Excellent
Fair
Fair
Poor
Overall
Consumer
Review
They have been delivering prepared meals since 1995, and their menu is frequently used by seniors, gourmet food gifts, new mothers, working parents, and any busy family.

They offer 32 different main courses, which all come as individual dinners.

They have a "Family Dinners"section where consumers can buy larger serving trays of food that will service four to six people.
At this time we do not have any Home Cooking For You Coupons or working Home Cooking For You Coupon Codes to share with you at this time. We would like to point out that their fixed meal pricing may be lower than other companies with a discount code.

Other prepared meal delivery services that offer coupons include Home Bistro, and DineWise.
Home Cooking For You Coupons
Copyright 2009 Prepared Meal Delivery Reviews  All Rights Reserved. All Art Licensed by Shutterstock
Protected by Copyscape Unique Content Checker

Home Cooking For You Reviews

Consumer Submitted Home Cooking For You Reviews

Home Cooking For You Coupons and Coupon Codes

Share Your Reviews and Comments on Your Choice of Prepared Meals, Best Prepared Meals Delivered and Prepared Food.
Kitchen Granite Background
Chef
Best Prepared Meal Company
Prepared Meal Delivery Reviews
Share your food reviews with other foodies
Follow Me on Pinterest
Web Page Updated On: 7/10/2015
Best Services
3rd Best Prepared Meal Delivery Company
Second Best Prepared Meal Company
PoorFairGoodExcellent
PoorFairGoodExcellent
PoorFairGoodExcellent
PoorFairGoodExcellent
PoorFairGoodExcellent
PoorFairGoodExcellent